PDA

View Full Version : Hedy Lamar

03-26-1999, 04:36 PM
I work in the two way radio industry, and for the last few years I have heard people within the industry discuss actress Hedy Lamar as a matter of trivia. Depending on who tells the story, Lamar was an engineer and an inventor who helped to lay the foundation for modern wireless communications systems. I've heard several different versions of the story, from folks saying that she was the inventor of trunked radio systems, to the inventor of digital spread spectrum, to the inventor of digital voice encryption.

Is there any truth to any of this? I've looked at some biographical information and fan websites for Hedy Lamar, but can find no mention of her inventing any of these technologies. Anyone know the straight dope?

Jack

03-26-1999, 05:07 PM
During WWII Hedwig Kiesler Markey, AKA Hedy Lamar, and a collegue invented a classified communications system for use by American submarines. The patent is in her real name rather than he stage name. She was anxious not to let her sex symbol status be compromised by any hint of intelligence. Apparently smarts was a real turn off for men back then.

------------------
Aon Dia.
Aon Tir.
Aon Ite.

03-26-1999, 05:10 PM
She was a co-inventor of a spread spectrum system, patented in 1942. See:
Actress Hedy Lamarr hailed for key commtech invention (http://www2.nando.net/newsroom/ntn/info/030997/info21_20093.html) for a good review which appeared in Nando.net in 1997. (I found this article using the new Google (http://www.google.com) search engine, which I think is the best-est search engine out there.)

03-26-1999, 06:10 PM
Another good site is at http://home.nycap.rr.com/useless/hedy_lamarr/lamarr.html .

03-26-1999, 11:49 PM
I thought that was the character that Harvey Korman played in "Blazing Sadles".

------------------
"There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies and statistics"
Benjamin Disraeli

03-27-1999, 12:19 AM
that's Hedley... HEDLEY!!!!