View Full Version : X Box Scam???
Shai'tan
03-17-2003, 06:44 PM
While shopping on ebay, I came across several auctioneers that were selling "links" to websites where you can supposedly buy an X-box for 15 dollars, a 42" plasma TV for 50 dollars, and so forth. They claim it can take a week to three months to be able to purchase it at that price but that it actually works. What's the deal? Is it a scam, is there fine print, what?
DrDeth
03-17-2003, 06:48 PM
If it is too good to be true....
This has been discussed before. You pretend you are a wholesaler, and you try to get the companies to sell you a "sample" for cheap. Once upon a time, this sometimes used to work, if you had cool letterheads, a business address etc. However, now there are all theses dickheads on ebay pushing this idea. Won't work, save your cash.
Mangetout
03-17-2003, 06:52 PM
It is probably a scam, after all if they guy knows where to buy stuff dirt cheap, why isn't he selling the stuff?
In any case, it is against ebay rules to sell a link;
From eBay's help system:
Topics > eBay Policies > Prohibited and Restricted Items > Catalog and URL Sales (http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/catalogs.html)
Listings of URLs that offer buyers the opportunity to purchase items outside of eBay are prohibited.report it.
handy
03-18-2003, 09:43 AM
It's just a scam-ish sort of way to make money & it just refers usually to globalmarketing.com . It's nothing special, take a look at it if you want. Does it work? One guy told me it does but all he got was a small controller & don't you think after getting 100,000 requests for free stuff some Manf won't pay attention anymore?
Chris Luongo
03-18-2003, 09:30 PM
Yes, it's a scam---they usually just give you a link to globalsources.com. I've seen these a lot on eBay. If you do a search for any high-end car audio brand, one or two of these auctions always seem to come up.
DrMatrix
03-18-2003, 10:29 PM
This came up a week ago. See Is this a scam on eBay? (http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=168732). It's a scam.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.