PDA

View Full Version : Theophostic Ministry


Lord Ashtar
08-29-2003, 11:33 AM
Lately I've noticed that my dad and his fiancee have been going away on long weekends together. When I ask him where they are going, he says they're going to get "training."

I've gotten curious about this, so I decided to Google the name of this book he's been reading lately (apparently some kind of training manual), and got this (http://www.psychoheresy-aware.org/tpmin104.html). It sure doesn't look good, but then again I don't know how truthful this website is.

I'm beginning to wonder if this is legit, or some kind of Scientology offshoot. I was wondering if there are any Dopers out there who could provide me with more info on this guy Ed Smith and his ministry.

Nametag
08-29-2003, 12:55 PM
That site is extrememly anti-psychology in general, and very biased against Smith (not that there's anything wrong with that). Here is a site with some more resources, though it's still negative: http://www.apologeticsindex.org/c55.html
and here is Dr. Smith's official Website: http://www.theophostic.com

Lord Ashtar
08-30-2003, 09:12 AM
Thanks, Nametag.

NoClueBoy
08-30-2003, 11:26 AM
Hmmm....

Did you read this page (http://www.theophostic.com/forums.html) yet?

Some quotes (random and out of context, but still):



Please do not proceed beyond this point unless you have completed either the Basic or Advanced level training in Theophostic Ministry. If you choose to enter into one of these forums without the Basic training, you are willfully in violation of this ministry's guidelines...


...Avoid discussions with those who share "here is what has been taught, but I think..." information with the forum. Be sure that the insight or advise you share is substantiated with actual Theophostic principles taught in a Basic or Advanced Seminar...


...You DO NOT need to defend Theophostic Ministry or enter into discussion with those who have a questionable agenda. Simply ignore their statements and discussion...


...Please note that these forums are password protected...




Nothing specific, but I get a troubling sensation about this.