View Full Version : Another way to reach 1st base without hitting the ball
12-03-2003, 11:33 AM
You could be a pinch runner.
12-03-2003, 11:38 AM
Oh. . . baseball.
12-03-2003, 11:49 AM
By any number of illegal pitches.
A balk on a three ball count with no baserunners,
the ball slipping out of the pitchers control and going into foul territory on a three ball count,
and an illegal pitch called at the umpires discretion on a three ball count. Chad Bradford's submarine pitch was considered 'illegal' at least once by an upmire this past season.
12-03-2003, 12:29 PM
But a balk, a slipping ball, or an illegal pitch with a three bal count is counted as a base on balls, so I'm not sure this is different. Reaching base as a pinch runner is a clever "outside the box" answer though one might argue that the runner didn't actually reach first base.
Cecil's cited 7.05(i) rule is also just a base on balls.
Cecil's cited 7.05(h) rule must be an incomplete cite. The batter is not awarded first base on an overthrow by the pitcher to a base. Nor is he awarded first base on a picth that goes into the stands unless it's ball four or strike three. In those cases it's either a base on balls or a "dropped" third strike.
He can, however, be awarded first base on interference by someone other than the catcher (though you might just want to have a simple interference category). Supposedly in a minor league game during a squeeze play the runner broke for the plate early and the pitcher without stepping off the rubber threw the ball to the charging first baseman who tagged out the runner coming from third. The ruling is balk awarding the runner home plus interference on the first baseman awarding the batter first base.
12-03-2003, 12:31 PM
The rule 7.05(i) is either a:
Passed ball, thrid strike or
Ball four, a normal walk.
And shouldn't be counted as a sixth method to reach first base without hitting the ball.
12-03-2003, 01:45 PM
natural man has the only correct answer: pinch runner. The others all involve either interference, which is already quoted, or a walk or strike out.
12-03-2003, 01:50 PM
How does being a "graduate student" help Geoff to retrieve the basic rules of baseball from the vast recesses of his memory? Why does he feel he must justify his existence in this way?
I think any one or two Little League baseball players should be able to come up with four. Shit, I could've come up with six or seven, but then, I'm an asshole.
12-03-2003, 01:55 PM
But has anyone ever gotten the free base by a ball getting lodged in the Umpire's face mask? that's the really important question.
Ass For A Hat
12-03-2003, 03:23 PM
Cecil's cited 7.05(h) rule must be an incomplete cite.
I believe that OldGuy is correct in disputing the claim that 7.05(h) entitles the batter to first base on a pitch or pick off attempt that goes out of play.
The first sentence of 7.05 says...
Each runner including the batter runner may, without liability to be put out, advance...
IMHO, unless the pitch in question results in strike three or ball four, the batter is not a a batter runner (he's just a batter!) and thus would not be entitled to frst base.
Ass For A Hat
12-03-2003, 05:16 PM
Sorry to post twice in a row. In 2000, Cecil clarified his position on 7.05(h) and (i). In short, OldGuy is correct.
12-03-2003, 07:41 PM
Originally posted by garbageman
but then, I'm an asshole.
You should fit in here nicely. Welcome to the boards.
12-03-2003, 07:59 PM
Rule 7.07 is another way to get to 1st base without hitting the ball:
"If, with a runner on third base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first base on the interference and the ball is dead."
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.