PDA

View Full Version : How would you deal with a closet-less room?

Johnny Bravo
05-03-2004, 04:20 PM
So in about a month I'm moving. My bedroom-to-be has no closet. Now, I'm cool with putting t-shirts and jeans in a drawer, but slacks, dress shirts, jackets, etc, have to be hung up somewhere.

Any of you Dopers have suggestions for dealing with this? I'm more than willing to do a little bit of work, but nothing too terribly involved as I have little experience with any kind of building-type-stuff.

Hal Briston
05-03-2004, 04:37 PM
First off, in real estate parlance, you're not getting a bedroom. By definition, a bedroom has a closet. You're getting a den.

Anyway, you can always get a wardrobe or an armoire. Something that acts as a free-standing closet. Don't know how big this room is, but if you have the space, that may be the way to go.

aruvqan
05-03-2004, 04:49 PM
First off, in real estate parlance, you're not getting a bedroom. By definition, a bedroom has a closet. You're getting a den.

Anyway, you can always get a wardrobe or an armoire. Something that acts as a free-standing closet. Don't know how big this room is, but if you have the space, that may be the way to go.
Hm, then I dont have a 2 bedroom house, i have a 2 den house...

the asshat who modified the 20x20 cement block building from a tenant farmers 1 bedroom house into a 20x40 2 den house didnt put in closets=)

Armoire is the way to go, unless like our room there is no space for one [2 10x9 bedrooms. I can put a bed into each, but the door and chimney arrangement leaves no real place to put an armoire=\ so we have put up a bar in one corner for hanging clothes, and have mostly drawer-able clothes=)

Lobelia Overhill
05-03-2004, 04:51 PM
Can't you go to a shop and buy a wardrobe, like I had to?

Johnny Bravo
05-03-2004, 05:04 PM
Buying a piece of furniture is certainly an option. I'm just fishing for other ideas, really.

hybrid_dogfish
05-03-2004, 05:04 PM