PDA

View Full Version : Dumbest Game Show Question Ever

divemaster
06-10-2000, 08:38 PM
I was watching the College World Series (Geaux Tigers!) and flipped over to Fox to catch a little of America's Most Wanted. However, there was a quiz show on instead.

The question I saw was: "What is the only mammal that can truly fly?"

The three possible answers were:

--pigeon
--penguin
--bat

This was worth $128,000.

Now, I realize I'm a biologist; but I can't imagine that there is anyone over the age of 5 that wouldn't have been able to answer this correctly.

Coldfire
06-10-2000, 08:52 PM
Jeez. Everybody knows a bat is a reptile. How dumb!

Weirddave
06-10-2000, 09:04 PM
And naturally, The Penguin is a master criminal.

tubagirl
06-10-2000, 09:07 PM
But I thought is was a bird that flew...

That is the education they are giving people today. sheesh!

ruadh
06-10-2000, 09:16 PM
Here's another good one, from the Newlywed Game circa 1985. I don't know why but I laughed my arse off at this one and obviously it's stuck in my memory:

"Which of these names would your husband LEAST want to give to your son: Larry, Walter, or Bruce?"

(I think most of the contestants picked Walter)

Saint Zero
06-11-2000, 02:09 AM
This one from Quiz Bowl...

"What can stop the Duke of Earl?"

I was too stunned to ring in.

Whammo
06-11-2000, 02:19 AM
Butterflies!!!!!!!!!!!

Xgemina
06-11-2000, 03:50 AM
actually, any of the first 4 questions on "who wants to be a millionaire" fits this OP perfectly. they are usually something like "how many sides to a square"

DRY
06-11-2000, 06:19 AM
What do you find in men's trousers and on a pool table?

The answer, of course, is "pockets".

Little Nemo
06-11-2000, 08:34 AM
I remember watching a game show once where the contestant was given the occupations and first names of two famous people and had to guess their common last name.

The question was: Patriot Benjamin and singer Aretha.

The answer given: Washington.

handy
06-11-2000, 10:53 AM