c_goat
12-08-2004, 12:38 PM
I just tried to send an email to someone. Then I got the following error message from the send program on my web host (where I was sending from):
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at <my web host server>.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
<guidopian@quintanaroo.com>:
205.158.62.147 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 <guidopian@quintanaroo.com>: User unknown
Giving up on 205.158.62.147.
--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
<My original message is here>
The problem is that in no way did I specify the message to go to that address. quintanaroo is apparently a mexican email provider. My guess is a spammer or virus writer address that's been closed.
I don't think it's a trojan horse on my system, I'm running Gentoo Linux (all packages up to date) and using Thunderbird 0.8. I'm at work behind a NAT router, and I have brought this laptop home and connected it to my optonline network, which has a hardware firewall/router as well.
Does this mean my web host has a compromised server? I tried sending another message to the same person, and the error didn't occur again. I've yet to hear a response from the person that I sent the original message to in order to see if they received it. I forwarded the error message to my hosting provider to see what they thought of it.
Any thoughts?
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at <my web host server>.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
<guidopian@quintanaroo.com>:
205.158.62.147 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 <guidopian@quintanaroo.com>: User unknown
Giving up on 205.158.62.147.
--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
<My original message is here>
The problem is that in no way did I specify the message to go to that address. quintanaroo is apparently a mexican email provider. My guess is a spammer or virus writer address that's been closed.
I don't think it's a trojan horse on my system, I'm running Gentoo Linux (all packages up to date) and using Thunderbird 0.8. I'm at work behind a NAT router, and I have brought this laptop home and connected it to my optonline network, which has a hardware firewall/router as well.
Does this mean my web host has a compromised server? I tried sending another message to the same person, and the error didn't occur again. I've yet to hear a response from the person that I sent the original message to in order to see if they received it. I forwarded the error message to my hosting provider to see what they thought of it.
Any thoughts?