PDA

View Full Version : Pop Top Legend Rears Ugly Head

03-22-1999, 10:49 PM
The pop top legend still lives!! Just when I thought people had figured out once and for all this is a UL, along comes another misguided soul asking for pop top donations for their church. I thought about trying to get this person to understand that it makes more sense to recycle the whole freaking can than just the top, but instead decided conserve my energy.

03-23-1999, 11:22 AM
I hear you.
I used to work as a substitute teacher. In the office someone had rigged up a little box specifically for pop tops. No one knew this was a urban legand. Even more disturbing, no one questioned how/why saving pop cans could benefit anyone. Not wanting to look like a know-it-all, I kept my mouth shut.
BTW, the Micky-Mouse-LSD-sticker legand is still going strong too.

------------------

03-23-1999, 05:26 PM
Around here (ATL) a lot of school classes collect pop-tops to raise money by recycling. I am told they collect just the pop-tops instead of the entire can because the cans are dirty unless rinsed out which makes the tops easier to deal with.

------------------
.sig file missing --- (A)dlib, (R)etry, (F)ail?

Dennis Matheson --- tanstaafl@earthlink.net
Hike, Dive, Ski, Climb --- home.earthlink.net/~tanstaafl (http://home.earthlink.net/~tanstaafl)

03-23-1999, 05:45 PM
Somebody at work wanted them for some organization. Said they were to buy time on kidney machines for orphaned kids.
Aluminum cans were selling for $.45 a lb. at the time.

JACK

03-23-1999, 06:25 PM
Seems like I remember pop tops being used in some sort of cheezy craft item. Maybe the craftsy folks pay a fortune for them. Remember, these are the same folks that buy old saw blades and ostrich egss...

------------------
The Trustworthy Troglodyte

03-23-1999, 11:21 PM
Maybe the craftsy folks pay a fortune for them.