PDA

View Full Version : Is vinegar a mollusc?

lissener
11-20-2005, 05:34 PM
I recenty had a fruit fly problem. They got into EVERYTHING.

Also, as an obsessive cook, I buy a lot of my liquid staples in bulk: gallons of olive, grapeseed, canola, sesame, and peanut oil; and gallons of rice, cider, malt, red, and cheap balsamic vinegar; soy sauce, tamari, rice wine, chili oil, etc. I then transfer the contents into those semitranslucent squirt bottles. I have a couple dozen of them arrayed on my counter.

The vinegar I use most is the rice vinegar, so recently it's been the only one I leave out in its pointy little bottle.

So the other day, I go to grab it, from behind a bunch of other pointy bottles, and I see with dismay that it has a bunch of grotty little black specks in it. Yep, fruitflies diving in from the tiny hole at the top to do the backstroke of death in my vinegar. Then I see that there's what appears to be a white film on top of the vinegar. Yucky mold or something, musta got started on a dead fly then spread a scum across the vinegar. Mildly interesting, but grosser than it is interesting.

So I dump it out in the sink and let the bottle sit under running water for a while. When I go to dump that out, there's what appears to be a thin scallop, or a disc of squid flesh in bottle I have to manipulate it with a pair of chopsticks, to fold it and get it out.

It's solid; it's like flesh. If you had handed it to me outside of its context, my first guess would have been that it was a disc of squid flesh, or some other type of mollusc. It was also kinda like the flesh of a lychee, only more opaque--though not entirely.

It was really yucky.

Anyone know what bizarre alchemy took place in my vinegar squirter?

Random
11-20-2005, 05:42 PM
It's a vinegar mother.

http://www.sallys-place.com/food/columns/willan/mother_of_all.htm

Zabali_Clawbane
11-20-2005, 05:44 PM