Straight Dope Message Board

Straight Dope Message Board (http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/index.php)
-   Cafe Society (http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Movies engineers like (http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?t=826698)

Crafter_Man 05-20-2017 12:32 PM

Movies engineers like

The best example I can think of is Apollo 13.

Others?

Little Nemo 05-20-2017 01:17 PM

I'm going to guess The Martian is popular among engineers. They would identify with the "let's break this problem down and solve it one step at a time" attitude.

RealityChuck 05-20-2017 01:21 PM

The Great Train Robbery
Silver Streak
The General

bobo blesinger 05-20-2017 01:26 PM

I'm an engineer and I like Anchorman.

Robot Arm 05-20-2017 01:55 PM

Someone here once described a genre of movies as "getting shit to work" films; those where the central conflict to be overcome is technical or mechanical rather than personal. That sounds like the sort of thing the OP might be looking for.

Dendarii Dame 05-20-2017 02:59 PM

Flight of the Phoenix, where they build an ultralight aircraft from a much larger plane which has crashed.

The Tooth 05-20-2017 03:04 PM

Well I'm an engineer and my favourite movie is Blade Runner. I also hold Star Trek II, Blue Velvet, and Pee-Wee's Big Adventure in high regard.

Also Auto Focus, Hard Boiled, Dune, and Excalibur. Not to mention O Brother Where Art Thou, The Cheap Detective, Ed Wood, and True Stories.

It's just a job.

CalMeacham 05-20-2017 03:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dendarii Dame (Post 20221429)
Flight of the Phoenix, where they build an ultralight aircraft from a much larger plane which has crashed.

This. My mother told me that the Hardy Kruger character reminded her of me.

I think that was intended as a compliment.

1865 version, of course. Not the 2004 remake.

Other possibilities:

The Man in the White Suit

The Thing