The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Comments on Cecil's Columns/Staff Reports

Old 07-14-2011, 04:41 PM

Straight Dope on Nitrogen?

I have been using Nitrogen for over 10 years and would never go back to using air again which by the way is no longer free in most places. First Cecil seems to think the only reason to get Nitrogen is for the cool green valve stems. I totally disagree and the end of his tirade against Nitrogen even gives the main reason why people should replace air with Nitrogen, that better than 60% of driver's rarely if ever check their tires, and probably make that 95% of all women. However a recent Government report stated that as much as 700 million barrels of oil per year could be saved if every driver just kept their tires properly inflated. The way to do that is Nitrogen, nothing else works as well and at Tire Warehouse the cost is only $5 per tire and right now 7/14/11 they have a 20% discount to encourage more people to try it. I have driven my jeep for over 3 years and never once needed a boost or refill and my tires are wearing evenly which means they will last much longer, saving landfills space from tires that still had plenty of good tread but had bald spots due to under or over inflation. If people reading this are concerned about saving the whales, global warming or the environment and yet won't spend $20 to get better gas mileage and save money on premature tire replacements then so be it. But don't complain about the high cost of fuel or global warming or put bumper stickers on your car about saving the whales because that would just make you shallow and something of a hypocrite. Don't take my word for it, try it and I will bet $20 you will never want just air in your tires again.

LINK TO COLUMN: http://www.straightdope.com/columns/...instead-of-air

Last edited by C K Dexter Haven; 07-14-2011 at 08:31 PM.. Reason: Added link -- CKDH
Old 07-14-2011, 05:12 PM
Charter Member