Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2010, 11:30 PM
Idle Thoughts is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 12,265

Did you know this? (Board-related)


That when you're doing a search, if you want to search more than one forum, all you have to do is click, hold, and drag the left mouse button..and it allows you to select multiple forums.

I knew that. I'm just curious how many others knew that.*

*Maybe on the off chance someone will reply going "Whoa! I never knew that! Thanks, Idle!"
  #2  
Old 02-19-2010, 11:35 PM
Johnny L.A. is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NoWA
Posts: 60,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idle Thoughts View Post
\ all you have to do is click, hold, and drag the left mouse button..and it allows you to select multiple forums.
I don't know what you're describing. (I'm on a Mac PowerBook.) 'Click', I get. 'Drag the left mouse button'?
  #3  
Old 02-19-2010, 11:40 PM
Idle Thoughts is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 12,265
When you're on the search page. You know how you can select what forum to search in? And the forum you're searching is highlighted in blue? Well, you can select multiple forums to search in, not just one or all of them (although they have to be forums that are next to each other).

ETA: Here's a screenshot

Last edited by Idle Thoughts; 02-19-2010 at 11:43 PM.
  #4  
Old 02-19-2010, 11:47 PM
Johnny L.A. is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NoWA
Posts: 60,955
Ah. I know you can select multiple adjacent forums (by using the Shift key). I thought you were describing how to select non-adjacent forums (which I can't do).
  #5  
Old 02-19-2010, 11:51 PM
Idle Thoughts is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 12,265
Or how about this..didja know this? That after you type a post, all you have to do is hit "Tab" and then "spacebar".
I've been replying that way for years and never know any other way now.
Unless you want to preview...then it's "tab", "tab", "spacebar".

Last edited by Idle Thoughts; 02-19-2010 at 11:51 PM.
  #6  
Old 02-19-2010, 11:59 PM
Ogre is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bama
Posts: 10,747
So shift-click works for adjacent forums. I wonder if ctrl-click works for nonadjacent ones.

Hang on.

Yep! Sure does!
  #7  
Old 02-20-2010, 12:03 AM
Johnny L.A. is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NoWA
Posts: 60,955
D'OH!

I was using the crtl key (for 'left mouse button') instead of the Command key.
  #8  
Old 02-20-2010, 12:48 AM
Idle Thoughts is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 12,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogre View Post
So shift-click works for adjacent forums. I wonder if ctrl-click works for nonadjacent ones.

Hang on.

Yep! Sure does!
Whoa! I never knew that! Thanks, Ogre!
  #9  
Old 02-20-2010, 08:42 AM
twickster is offline
Charter Member
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 38,721
Moved MPSIMS --> ATMB.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@straightdope.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Copyright 2018 STM Reader, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017