The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > About This Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2012, 03:27 AM
Rhythmdvl Rhythmdvl is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Shakedown Street
Posts: 11,105
What is http://xn--boards-oi0c.straightdope.com/… ?

I was looking for a thread, put brainglutten intitle:use words site:straightdope.com into Google, and got a string of hits. Most went to boards.straightodope.com and said so in the green text below the page title and in the status bar (Firefox, if this makes a difference). But the thread I was looking for had a quotation mark before the domain, and the link was http://xn--boards-oi0c.straightdope....php?p=15236506.


When I arrived on the page I was logged out of the Dope (I was logged in on other tabs). After logging in I realized something was off, then went to a pre-existing tab to change my password. But was that overkill? The straightdope.com was there, and Google (I thought) would have limited its results to SDMB pages because of the site: tag. Or have I been compromised by someone with the power to infiltrate Google and chaTHIS IS FORMER AGENT. ANYONE WITH INFORMATION ON RHYTHMDVL’S ACTIVITIES IS NOW UNDER SURVEILLANCE TOO. COME TO THINK OF IT, DOES ANYONE ELSE REMEMBER FORMER AGENT?
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 07-30-2012, 03:45 AM
Mangetout Mangetout is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Kingdom of Butter
Posts: 47,512
Well, it appears to be part of the straightdope.com domain, so probably legit. Maybe it's the raw, un-prettified path to where the board is actually hosted.

Last edited by Mangetout; 07-30-2012 at 03:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2012, 03:46 AM
Crazyhorse Crazyhorse is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
It is still hosted at straightdope.com so I doubt your password was compromised. It is probably a test server that wasn't intended to be indexed by google.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2012, 08:53 AM
AHunter3 AHunter3 is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY (Manhattan) NY USA
Posts: 15,758
How about THIS one?:

http://uk.newif.com/forum-45-1.html

It doesn't have the graphical appearance of the SDMB at all (nor is it the archives, I get the archives pages sometimes in google searches but this isn't one of those either).

The threads themselves are definitely Dope threads though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:13 AM
Telemark Telemark is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Hub of the sports world
Posts: 12,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazyhorse View Post
It is still hosted at straightdope.com so I doubt your password was compromised. It is probably a test server that wasn't intended to be indexed by google.
Or just internal server names that are hidden when you go through boards.straightdope.com.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:17 AM
Vinyl Turnip Vinyl Turnip is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: <--- <--- <---
Posts: 12,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by AHunter3 View Post
How about THIS one?:

http://uk.newif.com/forum-45-1.html

It doesn't have the graphical appearance of the SDMB at all (nor is it the archives, I get the archives pages sometimes in google searches but this isn't one of those either).

The threads themselves are definitely Dope threads though.
I stumbled across a couple of sites that were showing stolen SDMB threads, after making the surprising discovery that Vinyl Turnip (along with a bunch of other Dopers) was a member of boards I'd never heard of. Reported it back in January, and TubaDiva said they're aware of it happening but can't do much about it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:29 AM
Nature's Call Nature's Call is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Hey! Could some copy-cat site like uk.newif.com have archived the Winter of Missed Content?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:49 AM
Rhythmdvl Rhythmdvl is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Shakedown Street
Posts: 11,105
Or what about the Lost Weekend (or whatever it came to be called)?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:50 AM
PlainJain PlainJain is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by AHunter3 View Post
The strange thing is there doesn't seem to be a link to that from the root domain.
http://uk.newif.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2012, 09:57 AM
guizot guizot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: An East Hollywood dingbat
Posts: 5,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinyl Turnip View Post
I stumbled across a couple of sites that were showing stolen SDMB threads, after making the surprising discovery that Vinyl Turnip (along with a bunch of other Dopers) was a member of boards I'd never heard of. Reported it back in January, and TubaDiva said they're aware of it happening but can't do much about it.
Isn't that some kind of a technique that some Chinese systems use to gather data or something? I think I once tried to use one of those "stolen" boards, and it wanted me to register in order to post.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-30-2012, 10:35 AM
TubaDiva TubaDiva is offline
Mother's Little Helper
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: In the land of OO-bla-dee
Posts: 9,415
Right. Mostly those kinds of sites are just homes for ads and they steal data from other sites to pad the site out, make it look interesting,, draw clicks from Google searches.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-30-2012, 05:00 PM
spinky spinky is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
DNS names starting with "xn--" are "internationalized" names. It's a scheme that allows you to encode non-ASCII characters (e.g. Japanese) in a DNS name, and browsers will display those instead of the funny "xn--..." string under some circumstances. In other words, if you wanted to have a web site called "東京.com", the domain name for it will really be something practically unintelligible beginning with "xn--".

The reason there's one of these domain names under straightdope.com isn't entirely clear, but it does look like the SDMB has a wildcard DNS entry set up so that anything.straightdope.com resolves to the same address, and most prefixes (notably excluding www) just end up redirecting to boards.straightdope.com.

So if I created a web page that had a link to a SDMB thread but I replaced the hostname with fartypants.straightdope.com, it would come up in google searches. I don't have any explanation for why anyone would do that, but I bet it's just a copy-paste error where a piece of text quoted the string "boards.straightdope.com" and someone accidentally included the first quote mark when making a link.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-01-2012, 03:24 PM
kushiel kushiel is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nature's Call View Post
Hey! Could some copy-cat site like uk.newif.com have archived the Winter of Missed Content?
IIRC, web spiders were blocked on the boards then, so it would have been much harder to to copy stuff from the Winter of Missed Content. Best chance is Googling exact text used in a post from then.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-01-2012, 04:11 PM
Crazyhorse Crazyhorse is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinky View Post
So if I created a web page that had a link to a SDMB thread but I replaced the hostname with fartypants.straightdope.com, it would come up in google searches.
Damn, the good domain names are always already taken!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kushiel View Post
IIRC, web spiders were blocked on the boards then, so it would have been much harder to to copy stuff from the Winter of Missed Content. Best chance is Googling exact text used in a post from then.
There might be some hope it is on the wayback machine ( http://web.archive.org/web/201106240...dope.com/sdmb/ ) it has some indexes of the boards as far back as November, 2000.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright © 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.