Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:48 AM
handsomeharry handsomeharry is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: oklahoma city
Posts: 7,886
cctv-do I need a multiplexer? if so, make it cheap!

I just obught a dandy little secuity camera from walmart for 25 bucks. it is great (homeland security brand, iirc). it works great at minimal to no light levels also. now, i want to add three more cameras so i can have a fine security system, just like the kindly old security guard at work. i want to have them all channeled into a mixer(?) or multiplexer (?) or something so that i can record them either on video or PC, preferably at the same time (like a four screen image or else 1 or X number of seconds alternating) What is it that I want? where can i get one, and cheaply?
thanks,
hh
  #2  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:51 AM
handsomeharry handsomeharry is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: oklahoma city
Posts: 7,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by handsomeharry
I just obught a dandy little secuity camera from walmart for 25 bucks. it is great (homeland security brand, iirc). it works great at minimal to no light levels also. now, i want to add three more cameras so i can have a fine security system, just like the kindly old security guard at work. i want to have them all channeled into a mixer(?) or multiplexer (?) or something so that i can record them either on video or PC, preferably at the same time (like a four screen image or else 1 or X number of seconds alternating) What is it that I want? where can i get one, and cheaply?
thanks,
hh
just BOUGHT one, that is.
  #3  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:01 AM
Johnny L.A. Johnny L.A. is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NoWA
Posts: 57,492
If you want to go to video tape, I think you need a multiplexer. If you go digital, you don't since the digital recorder will sequence through the cameras itself. You can also choose to display all the cameras at once at the same size, or have your primary camera display a large image and your other cameras display smaller images and click to change which is in the large window.

When I worked (periferally) with CCTV Pelco was the unit we liked to install. But they're expensive. There's a less espensive unit, but I'll have to remember the name. In the last year I'm sure that prices have fallen and there are much ceaper systems out there. There was one that came with four lipstick cameras and the digital recorder for about $600. We didn't use it because it wasn't as good as Pelco or the other unit; but a lot of people who want to have DIY systems apparently bought it.
  #4  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:46 AM
gotpasswords gotpasswords is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: San Francisco area
Posts: 16,102
The last time I was face-to-face with a DIY type multi-camera system, the monitor was the core of the system. On the monitor itself was a row of buttons: 1 2 3 4 + @
Pressing a number, brought up that one camera, and pressing + put up all four. The @ represents a circular pair of arrows that would cycle the cameras full-screen every couple of seconds. The monitor had a video output that was plugged into a VCR.
  #5  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:57 AM
docandjean docandjean is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 83
If you want to grab images on your computer, try this.
  #6  
Old 12-22-2005, 12:20 PM
handsomeharry handsomeharry is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: oklahoma city
Posts: 7,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotpasswords
The last time I was face-to-face with a DIY type multi-camera system, the monitor was the core of the system. On the monitor itself was a row of buttons: 1 2 3 4 + @
Pressing a number, brought up that one camera, and pressing + put up all four. The @ represents a circular pair of arrows that would cycle the cameras full-screen every couple of seconds. The monitor had a video output that was plugged into a VCR.
gotpaswords, do you have a namebrand, or any further info? methinks that this is what i want.

thanks to everybody else!
hh
  #7  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:08 PM
Mr. Roboto Mr. Roboto is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlantis
Posts: 435
I've installed many CCTV systems with Time Lapse recording. The system as a whole integrates Camera's, cable, monitor, multiplexer/switcher and T/L Video recorder. Your best bet is to purchase a Kit that has all the components. Sams Club, Fry's Electronics or any retailer online will sell you the kit. Some of the kits have the multiplexer/switcher built into the monitor. There is programming involved and if you purchase a kit from a major company (Samsung, Panasonic) tech-support will be available. Night-vision is important! Systems offer infared bullet cameras that are weather proof. There are many types of connectors involved. C-connectors and BNC adaptors are common. Most kits include everything you will need including power supplies for the camera's. These kits are in a constant state of change. The kit you buy today will be unavailable in 10 months. I have found Samsung to be user friendly and they make a variety of kits depending on what your needs are. Stay away from specialized cable. you want a kit that uses basic RG59 cable.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2017 Sun-Times Media, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017