Old 07-11-2002, 01:34 AM

Good Graphic Novles

So, what are some good graphic novels? I'm fairly new to the scene, having in the past month just read "Watchmen", the "Preacher" series, and about halfway through "V For Vendetta" right now. I'll investigate recommendations into any form that's recommended, be it true crime or superhero or anything inbetween. Currently, though, I'm looking into Akira, 100 Bullets, and Transmetropolitan, so any input as to those would be appreciated as well.
Old 07-11-2002, 01:36 AM

Ah, shite, I could've sworn I was in Cafe Society! Mods?
Old 07-11-2002, 01:38 AM

Akira is excellent. There is so much more in the graphic novels than in the movie that was made from them. They can be a bit on the pricey side (like all graphic novels) -- in fact, last time I checked I could get them cheaper in French, including shipping from amazon.fr. But you can sometimes find 'em used too.
Old 07-11-2002, 01:43 AM

Yeah, I've heard nothing but rave reviews for the Akira series, but I've never seen the movie, either.

To add to my original post, I'm also investigating the Maus books and the "Invisibles" series. What is everyone's input on those? The Invisibles seems a bit too radically political to enjoy, but it's gotten some nice acclaim and seems to have an intriguing plotline..
Old 07-11-2002, 03:14 AM

The Maus books are amazing. I love Niel Gaiman's graphic novels also, but they aren't very action-y.
Old 07-11-2002, 05:25 AM

Ronin and Elektra: Assassin a couple more by Frank Miller

The Cowboy Wally Show and Why I Hate Saturn by Kyle Baker
Old 07-11-2002, 07:15 AM
Charter Member

Anything with Usagi Yojimbo in the title.

The reprints in GN format of Astro Boy .

DC comic's Archive edition reprints of comics from the 1930's, especially the Justice Society and Will Eisner's The Spirit .

From Japan, we also get Sorcerer Hunters and Oh My Goddess .

More as I think of them.
Old 07-11-2002, 07:35 AM
Charter Member