Should all freshman have to live on campus?

This article talks about how MIT will require all freshmen to live in on-campus housing. What do you think about that (in general, not MIT in particular)?

I disagree with the policy. I never wanted to live on campus when I was a student, and I would not have chosen a school that required it. My limited dorm experiences - visiting other residents - convinced me that I’d never get any privacy, I’d never be able to study or sleep when I wanted, and I’d be very unhappy the whole time. When my Perfect Child[sup]TM[/sup] goes off to college, we’ll set her up in a rental home or we’ll buy a small house and rent it to her and a roommate.

If parents haven’t taught their kids responsible behavior by the time they’re in college, why should that fall to the university? If my kid needs a resident babysitter, maybe she’s not ready to leave home.

Personally, I think it’s a good IDEA for freshmen to live on campus if they’re kids out of high school. It’s a nice transition.

Making it a requirement is idiotic. A school isn’t boot camp.

As an MIT alumnus, I mourn the passing of Rush Week. Despite the impression the news accounts might give, it wasn’t an orgy of beer blasts. It was an intense familiarization process, and during that week I also advance-placed out of my first term of Calculus. In addition, you also got to tour the dorms and request space at a particular dorm. That had nothing to do with drinking or partying, and now that option is gone, too, since MIT assigns your room.

As it worked out, I ended up in a dorm, and haven’t regretted it. But I ended up at the dorm of my choosing, although through a roundabout process. And we won’t talk about the toothpaste in my door lock.