The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Cafe Society

Old 11-11-2002, 03:50 PM

Best Guitarists of the 20th and 21st Century

A few months ago I started playing the guitar. Since then my friend (who also plays the guitar) and I have gotten into a few arguments about who are some of the best guitarists of the 20th and 21st century. For instance, my friend thinks that John Mayer is a better guitarist than both Jimmy Page(!) Jimi Hendrix(!!). I think hes wrong but I don't know how I could prove that to him. So anyway, I figured that this would be an interesting topic for the Straight Dope. Sorry if this has been done before, the search function kept failing when I tried to check.

(Note that I'm excluding classical guitar since I really don't know that much about that, and its not what I'm interested in. Let's stick with rock, blues and jazz.)

Here are some names to start (along with band, and some songs that showcase their skills at playing and/or writing):
Jimmy Page - Led Zeppelin (my favorite) - Rock and Roll, Heartbreaker, Stairway to Heaven
Jimi Hendrix - Voodoo Chile, Red House
Tom Morello - Rage Against the Machine - Bulls on Parade (all his effects are done with just an amp and guitar.)
John Mayer - Neon (I'm not really a fan of his so I don't know many of his songs.)
Nuno Bettencourt - Extreme - Flight of the Wounded Bumblebee

I've also heard about BB King, Eric Clapton and Eddie van Halen but I haven't really listened to much by these guys.

Are those choices good? Who else belongs up there?
Advertisements  
Old 11-11-2002, 04:26 PM

Brinsley Schwarz - he led his own band in the 70's, but really shined while playing as part of The Rumour, Graham Parker's backing band in the 70's, 80's, 90's. He always seemed to know the exact cool riff or solo to play. Check him out in "Pourin' It All Out" from GP's great album, "Heat Treatment".