Need recommendation for historical non-fiction books (multiple subjects)

I was thinking about reading something on the following subjects:

• William the Conqueror/ The Norman Conquest
  • Charlamagne
  • Hasen ben Sabah and Hashashins (the first assassins)
  • Roman Conquest
  • Indian (feathers not dots) Wars with the white man
  • African Tribal Wars (the modern ones from the 80’s)
  • Earlier Gulf Wars (earlier than Bush the Elder’s. Like the Iraq/Iran War)
  • The Soviet/Afghan conflict.

All over the place on these, I suppose.

The problem is, I am not good at picking out non-fiction.

All too often, I accidentally pick a book written by a nut or liar. I, however, have no idea he is a nut or liar because I am not plugged into the historical community.

I also don’t want to read an account by someone with an agenda. I really just want an accurate, balanced, and approachable account of the story. I am a moderately intelligent person, but I am not looking for works that are purely academic!

Books that focus on the military and political angles of history are right up my alley.

Can any well-read dopers help me out on these or any subjects of a similar nature. I thirst for knowledge.

Go for the originals:

Charlemagne – I don’t know if it’s still in print, but Penguin’s Two Lives of Charlemagne was a great read by contemporariers of the big C – Einhard and Notker the Stammerrer.
Roman Conquests – Caesar’s Commentaries – Penguin has published an edition of de Bello Gallico, and so have a lot of other people. There was even a Classics Illustrated version. Latin-loving geeks read it in the original Latin. Bear in mind that Caesar was writing about himself, and would tend to make himself look good, so get an annotated version that gives you the dirt, too.

Are these books “approachable” ?

Jill Lepore; “The Name Of War” Story of King Phillips War and the beginnings of American identity.
Francis Parkman; “Montcalm and Wolfe”
Barbara Tuchman: “The March of Folly”