Ask the Recumbent Bike Rider

Spring’s here (or almost, for some of us), and I know many people are looking to buy new bikes. This is my shameless attempt to convince you to at least try out recumbent bikes. I’m not involved in the recumbent bike industry at all, I just love riding them and wish someone had told me about it earlier. I’ve been riding them almost exclusively for over 3 years, and have gone through about 7 bikes so far so I think I’m qualified to answer your questions. I’ll start off with a few obvious questions:

Q: Aren’t they just for disabled or old people?
A: No! There are plenty of young active riders. I’m in my late 20s myself. There are many high-performance recumbent racing bikes available, as well as more sedate models suitable for touring, commuting or just weekend fun.

Q: What’s so good about them?
A: Absolutely no pain in the butt, for a start. There’s also very little stress on the arms, neck and back. I know some computer programmers who got recumbents to prevent or relieve RSI. The excellent view is also a great advantage - since you are not leaning down, your face naturally faces forward and you can enjoy the view. And a lot of people find it very fun to ride. There is not much statistics on safety, but I feel much safer on a recumbent; when you fall on a recumbent you land on your butt, not your helmet. The low center of mass allows you to use the front brake effectively without flying over the handlebars.

Q: Isn’t it dangerous to ride such a low bike?
A: Most recumbents aren’t very low at all. Currently my everyday ride is the Bike Friday SatRDay. On this bike I’m taller than most compact cars. Even on lower bikes, visibility is usually not a problem because car drivers tend to keep their eyes on the road ahead, looking for low obstacles.

Q: How well do they climb?