Toilet Story 2: The Sequel

(Caution: Long Story With Upsetting Implications. Sensitive parents should use their ‘Back’ button Now.)

The “More About Going to the Bathroom” thread reminded this story, and I sort of backed myself into relating it –

As some of you know, I’m an Architect, Builder, and all-around land-raper type; and being prideless and in need of an income I’ve done quite a bit of work with municipal school systems over the years.

A few years ago I won a commission to convert a K-8 school building into a ‘Middle School’, and since it was a very old building the project involved substantially gutting the interior of the existing building, as well as placing a number of additions. Also because it was an old building, there were no plans of the existing structure, so we had to sort of ‘feel’ our way through the renovations portion of the project, solving the problems as they arose.

When we got to the Girl’s Locker Room, and tried to resolve the work that needed to be done with the conditions in-place, we ran into a little ventilation problem. There seemed to be exactly one more exhaust grill in the wall of the Girl’s gang shower than there ought to have been, and it seemed to be placed in such a way that nobody could figure out what it could possibly be connected to. (Remember, we’re talking K thru 8 here.)

A bit of quick poking around above the ceilings revealed that it was connected to – the School Principal’s Office. An office that had a jerry-built counter along the wall in question, from which one only needed lift a single ceiling tile to be afforded a full view through the oddly placed ‘exhaust’ grille into the shower. The Principal’s Office also turned out to have the only door in the Office area with its own lock.