I want to learn calculus.

I’m fighting ignorance here(my own, one brain cell at a time).

I never got to grips with calculus either at school (where I failed my Maths O Level), or when I returned to adult education (where I passed with a B (but calculus didn’t happen to appear in the exam paper)).

It still bugs me that I never understood it and I want to change that.

I could waste time explaining how far I got before it all became nonsense, but I think it would be better to assume that I am a complete beginner.

Can anyone recommend a good online tutorial or a good book on the subject? - It does need to begin from absolute basics.

I’m afraid not, but I just wanted to say well done for going back to it.

Calculus has a bad rep, but isn’t actually that hard once you get the hang of it. Good luck.

There was a thread on this a few days ago in GQ: So I decide to learn Calculus at home…

Some good advice in there.

After forgetting nearly all the calculus I had learned twenty-five years ago, I gathered a few books on the topic with the intention of doing some serious brushing up. For simple exposition in small, easy chunks, my favorite is Quick Calculus by Daniel Kleppner and Norman Ramsey. It’s especially designed for self-instruction, and I found it very effective. I have also acquired the well-known Calculus Made Easy by Silvanus P. Thompson, but I find that I’m just not reading very far into it, even though the style is a hoot.

After winding up the Kleppner and Ramsey, I returned to my old college textbook, Calculus by Lynn Loomis, but any text in wide use should do for your use. Start with the easy exercises, and just do lots of them. It’s so tempting to skip the ones you already understand, but repetition of simple skills is very important. The hard exercises will be less hard only when the easy exercises are quite automatic.