anyone know the weight of solid oxygen and liquid oxygen?

i am wondering how to figure out the weight of these things, so I can compare them to weight of water in liquid form and ice aka solid form.

which one is lighter?
water or oxygen in solid and liquid forms.

You want density, not weight. A pound of LOX weighs the same as a pound of water. Liquid oxygen’s density at it’s boiling point (-182.97°C) is 1.141 grams per cubic centimeter; more dense than water (1 g/cm[sup]3[/sup]).

I’ll let someone else find the density for the solid.

I’m going on memory here, but IIRC, liquid oxygen is about 9.5 pounds, and water is about 8.4 per gallon, depending on the temperature, ice weighing less than water.

yeah density. :stuck_out_tongue: obviously, i am no scientist.

8.4:9.5::1:1.13

oxygen solid weighs less than oxygen liquid?

No, I was saying that 8.4 lb per gal is to 9.5 lb per gallon as 1 gram per cc is to 1.3 g/cc. In other words, Turbo Dog said the same thing as me, but in english units and less accurately.

I still can’t find a density for the solid. Things at those temperatures act oddly, and it looks like there are different kinds of oxygen ice. It may have a lower density than the liquid, like water ice, I don’t know.

Gimme a break dude. I’m getting old! I’m just happy that I remembered enough to be in the ballpark!:slight_smile:

Oh okay.
Thanks you all.

I still dunno about the weight of solid oxygen or as Wikkit pointed out, the density is what I seek.

Anyone know the density of solid oxygen?

<http://drs.yahoo.com/S=2766679/K="solid+oxygen"+density+weight/v=2/SID=w/l=WS1/R=9/H=0/*-http://bmrl.med.uiuc.edu:8080/periodic/O.html>

does this have the answer I am looking for?

more specifically:
Density/kg m-3
2000 [solid, at melting point]; 1140 [liquid, at boiling point]; 1.429 [gas, 273 K]

Okay what does this mean?
gas is ligher than liquid, which is lighter than solid?