Ask the Hindu

Awhile ago, I was asked to start an “Ask the Hindu” thread by, I can’t remember whom. I was a little reluctant to, because I don’t consider myself an expert in Hinduism by any means.

However, in this thread in the BBQPit:

http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=204499

I took exception to the title, for reasons I explained in the thread. To this, I was met with the usual “quit your whining” statements. However, a few posters saw fit to make bigoted, ignorant statements about Hinduism.

Rather than start a flame war with them in that thread, I’ve decided to open this thread, so that any misconceptions about Hinduism can be cleared up.

Once again, I’m not an expert on either Hinduism or Indian history. As such, it may take me time to come up with the proper response to a question, since I may have to do some research on it. Furthermore, I’ve just started to learn Sanskrit, so my knowledge of the original sacred texts is through translations, so you may have to take some quotes with a grain of salt.

Also, I’m busy with work, so it may take some time for a response for that reason.

Anyway, ask away.

All right, I’ll start…

I’ve heard that Hinduism is not actually a religion, per se, because Hindus do not believe in dieties (at least, not in the same sense that other religions such as Christianity, Judaism, etc., believe in deities).

Can you clarify (and/or debunk) this for me?

Barry

My friend has been dating an Indian Hindu for several years. This has caused all kinds of drama with her family (They are high up in her temple, and the boyfriend is not only not Hindu- he’s not Indian!). So Hinduism has been on the minds of my social group and I have a lot of questions.