Is Anal Intercourse a Popular Means of Birth Control Anywhere?

Again, from a book I’m reading, the mother and father of this kid discuss their younger days after they’d just met, and instead of having vaginal intercourse, they engaged in anal intercourse as a substitute. How common is that? I imagine it’s pretty effective as a means of birth control, except that if the semen drips or spills into the vagina at some point post-coitus, the risk is there that she will become pregnant.

I forget where now, but I’d read somewhere that a form of birth control popular in Catholic countries was anal intercourse. In Muslim countries in which women are out of reach, the men engage in anal intercourse with each other as a means of expending their sexual energy.

I’m told that it’s regularly practiced in Africa.

It’s pretty popular in the anus.

That would be up the ass, Bob.

I’m an 8th grade teacher in an inner-city school, and that’s a very, very common practice among my students. We try to emphasize that anal sex increases the risk of HIV transmission, but if they’re concerned about any consequences at all it’s only pregnancy.

My first reaction to the question was, “For half the population.”

My response to UWhite’s post above was, “Eighth graders?! Very, very common?!”

Geez. I went to an inner-city school, and the backdoor wasn’t even being considered as an alternative by anyone back then, as far as I can recall.

I am uncomfortable with the fact that you as an 8th grade teacher know this. Beyond the fact that every child in your class is under the statutory rape age. Why don’t you do your job and report those CHILDREN who are committing a felony? Maybe the inner city wouldn’t be so “inner city” if adults just did the right thing.

Actually, no.
One of my coworkers is proof that anal sex produces offspring.

It’s really such a pleasure working with him.
:dubious: