In which I pit Oregon weather, or What the hell is this shit?

Was going to post this yesterday but the board was down.

I am an amateur astronomer and avid stargazer. It’s been cloudy, foggy, and rainy here for about the last 3 months. Boring, dull, depressing weather.

On January 11th it was sunny for maybe the fifth time since October. Looked promising - finally a chance to try out that Barlow lens I just got for xmas! Night came and the view was beautiful, with Orion high up in the sky, and Mars and Saturn clearly visible. I decided to go back out later with the telescope after the Moon came up because its bright cratery surface would be perfect for trying out my new lens.

So an hour or two later… the sky is all full of damn fog and smoke! Overcast. What the hell is this shit!? I wait through 3 goddamn months of rain and fucking snow for nothing? This shit doesn’t fly.

It’s not anything personal about Oregon. Beautiful state, and I spent some of my years growing up here. It’s just lately the weather stinks.

So, I’ve decided to leave here as soon as possible. Permanently. That’s right, I’m staying here over my dead body. You can pry my Barlow from my cold dead hands. And you can drive me back here in a coffin. No, on second thought you can drive me back here in an urn. Try that stunt with a coffin and there’ll be a zombie walking across the state line.

I understand there’s been some even shittier weather in the northern part of the state, so other Dopers from all over the northwest, please consider this an invitation to post your own meteorological horror stories here.

Yeah, I’m wondering if any of that snow/freezing sleet has found its way to Johnny L.A., and if so, how the California transplant is faring under it.