Ask the 911 dispatcher

I finally got jealous enough of Badge’s Ask the cop thread to start one of my own from the other side of the radio. :smiley:

So, a little background. I’ve been doing this for about 2 1/2 years, dispatching for a rural county in mid-Missouri. We’re actually an EOC, an emergency operations center; we handle all 911 calls as well as all other emergency and non-emergency phone and radio traffic for all law enforcement, ambulance, and fire departments in the county. Larger towns have dedicated 911 centers and seperate dispatch centers for various departments. I enjoy my job quite a lot and they tell me I’m pretty good at it. So, anything anybody wants to know?

What is the most emotionally wrenching call you’ve had?

Do you have a lot of pranks? Roughly, what would be the %age?
In France it’s a big problem I heard.

Calls with little kids always get to me; one I remember in particular involved a little girl, about 9 I think, who woke up in the middle of the night and found that no one was home. She called 911 to see if we knew any open stores in the area that her mom might have gone to. She seemed to be a very sweet and intelligent little girl who was trying her best to stay calm even though I could tell she was really scared and upset, and man, I really wanted to drive out there and slap her mother when she finally showed back up (she had run out of fuel for her bong).

I’ve worked hundreds of motor vehicle accidents and generally they don’t affect me very much, but we had one a few weeks ago that for some reason really upset me. It was nothing terribly dramatic; a single vehicle in which the driver fell asleep and ran off the road, killing him. For some reason I found myself wondering who he was, if he had kids, what he was thinking before he nodded off, if he even realized what was happening (he was conscious for a while but not, I’m told, making much sense). That one’s stayed with me for a while.