Recommend me books on the comic book industry/history.

I’ve been collecting and reading comics for about 30 years now, but up till now I’ve generally been most interested in them for the stories, and the unique blend of literature and visual arts through which the stories are presented. I’m a bit embarassed to admit that I was in my late 20’s before I started paying careful attention to writers and, somewhat later, to artists.

I still couldn’t tell you exactly what it is that the inker does, or why in many circles machine lettering seems to be considered a tool of Satan. Which is to say that I’m a huge, voracious fan of the product, I’ve put little effort into delving into the industry itself.

Part of this is purely functional. I like to come to a story cold, not knowing what’s going to happen, so that, for example, the important new development that occurs in Superman/Batman #8 can come as a surprise to me. But this has left me somewhat ignorant of the industry that produces my favorite art form.

So here’s what I’m looking for:

First, a book that stands as a general introduction to the comic book industry.

Second, books specifically about the history of the golden age, superhero comic books, non-superhero genre comics, Marvel Comics, and DC Comics.

Third, any other books that it would be good for a new student of the industry to read to get a better understanding of it.

I’m not looking for gallery books with tons of cover shots. I love those, and have a few, but I’m looking for something a little meatier.

I have already Understanding Comics and both of Wil Eisner’s books, both of which I like a lot.

Recommend away.

The first request should be a general introduction to comic book history and the comic book industry.

I’m not a comics geek, but I do know that one of the things you’ll want to read for extra credit is Michael Chabon’s Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, wonderful novel about the Golden Age.