what would happen if all the world nuclear weapons were detonated all at once

Try to imagine if someone were able to gather all of the worlds nuclear and atomic weapons, move them all to one spot on earth, then detionate them all at the same time (every last one). What do you think would happen?

1. Would the blast crack the earth focing it to split in half or shatter to pieces?

2. Would the blast force the earth to shift to the point where it would be blown clean out of its orbit?

3. Would it just leave a VERY big hole killing only a small portion of life on earth?

What do you think would happen?

Last time I studied the Cold War we were told that there were enough nuclear weapons to destroy the entire earth several hundred times over. I don’t have any figures (who would have thought that would be hard to find out) as to total megatons but most likely a simultaneous explosion will pretty much obliterate everything, except maybe a few stray particles on the other side.
So, are you planning a fun night out or something? :smiley:

Well it’s certainly not going to crack the earth in half - that’s not how things work. The earth isn’t just held together like a normal physical object - most of what holds it together is it’s own gravity. But could all the nuclear weapons blow it up? A quick back of the envelope calculation gives that one needs about 10^53 joules of energy

Argh. Sorry. Accidentally hit submit reply too early (silly keyboard). A more complete post will follow shortly.