The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > In My Humble Opinion (IMHO)

Old 08-16-2004, 09:17 AM

Students your favorite Ice Breakers from Profs? Any really memorable?

Well we are coming to that time of year again...and as with evry year since I started teaching full time, I have tried t make the first day of every class every year a memorable one. Even when I am teaching upperclassmen who have had me before, I always try to do something new...Because I have been teaching for nearly 10 years at my current institution, I am running low on things to do...some are time honored and can be done with every incoming freshman class. Such as who you are, where you are from, etc...etc... however, as with last year there are more invasive ice breakers that I really have to think about...such as one of my favorites - pretending to be a student, and waiting to see who the more outgoing students are...by who pipes up first spouting the rules for when a student can legally leave class if the prof. doesn't show up... 20 minutes at the college I teach at....

So does anyone have any particularly fun ice breakers? This year I am running a small psychological test on my incoming freshmen...Often used by the FBI here it is:
Quote:
The “PIG” Personality Test

DIRECTIONS:

 On a blank sheet of paper draw a “pig’.
 You have one minute to complete- go!

INTERPRETATION:

If the pig is drawn:

 Toward the top of the paper - you are positive and optimistic
 Toward the middle - you are a realist
 Toward the bottom - you are pessimistic and have a tendency toward negative behavior

If the pig is facing:

 Left - you believe in tradition, are friendly and remember dates (Birthdays)
 Right - you are innovative and active, but don’t have a strong sense of family, nor do you remember dates.
 Facing You - you are direct, enjoy playing the devil’s advocate and neither fear nor avoid discussion

If the pig has: