Hey restaurant workers-- Ever spit in the food?

A post by ricepad in the Restaurant Pet Peeves thread made me wonder.

I’ve never worked in food service myself, but I have always assumed that if I made an ass of myself in a restaurant, I was putting myself at high risk of chowing down on a loogie.

So…has anyone out there ever actually spit, or put some other gross substance, in a customer’s food? (Of course, if you did it and don’t want to admit it, you can always hide behind the old “I had a friend who did this once…”)

I await your gross stories…

Yes, when I was 16. I really hated that job. We had to make food for our boss. We all spit in it when she went to her office. I wouldn’t do it now, but I am older. If you go to a place that has tons of teenagers working there then be real nice.

HUGS!
Sqrl

Back in my teens I worked as a busboy at a local steak restaurant. One night a drunken-old-fart pinched one of the waitresses in the behind. She was upset and consequently, the old guy’s meal got special attention.

It was winter time, people going in/out tracked some muddy,slushy,snow into the kitchen, and…

It made for a nice marinade :slight_smile:

My brother worked in a fast food joint. They used to serve breakfast until 10:30 and it never failed that at 10:29 they would have someone come through the drive-thru wanting biscuts and gravy after they had already put everything away. My brother told me that they would fix the biscuts and gravy for the person and they would spit in it beforehand. They also had a 3 second rule. If you dropped something on the floor, a hamburger, a bun, pickles, etc., if you picked it up off the floor within 3 seconds you could still use it. They counted awfully slow too.

I have 2, neither was me. Honest. In fact one was a high school acquantance and one was a guy I worked with. The HS guy swizzled his… well… “member” in a customers coke, evidently he had some sort of beef with the guy.

The other one spit in a cops mashed potatoes.