How do experts "recover" overwritten data from a hard drive?

I am an IT professional and I know a lot about computers. However, I am baffled when people tell me that data on a hard drive can be recovered after it is overwritten. I know that when you delete a file, it is not actually gone. The computer merely allocates that space to be used again. However, I always thought that hard drives stored everything in 1’s and 0’s. To me, that would mean that if you overwrote it will all 0’s or all 1’s or any random combiantion of the two, the data is gone forever. Experts assure us that that data can only truly be erased by overwriting the data that you want gone 7 times. I believe their expertise but I do not undertsnad why that is the case.

You never write to exactly the same place on the hard drive twice, and that’s enough of an in for people to get what used to be there. If someone wants your data bad enough, they can get at it even after you overwrite it seven times.

While data is stored in the form of 0s and 1s, fundamentally, the magnetic media are analog storage devices. Data recovery works because the 0s and 1s are almost never written to exactly the same place twice. This results in spots of weak residual magnetism offset from the stronger signal of the recently written data which are ignored by the drive elctronics in normal operation. For deep data recovery, the drive platters are actually removed from the original drive and placed in a purpose-built case with specially-designed drive electronics which can send the analog data to be analyzed by software to tease out older layers of data. There is a good atrticle on data recovery techniques here.