The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Old 01-24-2005, 10:41 AM

Minesweeper - is luck involved or not?

Some days ago, I started playing the classic gimmick Minesweeper included in Windows. After some success on the Beginner and Intermediate levels, I decided to change to the Expert level, where I'm constantly failing. My impression is that there are situations where pure luck is involved, i.e. it's not possible to detect a square I know, for logical reasoning, to be "safe." Of course it's constantly so at the beginning of each game, when you simply click around on the board trying to find clues for continuing; but those situations where you can have good or bad luck because you just don't know for sure how to go on seem to appear on the Expert level even towards the end of the game, unlike in the two easier levels. Is that just my impression based on frustration after losing a dozen games in a row, or does luck actually play a role so much more important on the Expert level?
Advertisements  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:45 AM

Yes, luck certainly comes into it. Quite often, you'll end up with two 'cornered' squares, and it's not possible to determine which has a mine.
Old 01-24-2005, 10:47 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schnitte
Is that just my impression based on frustration after losing a dozen games in a row, or does luck actually play a role so much more important on the Expert level?