German language q.: "Heute nacht" means "last night", or "tonight"?

The German language, which I studied for eight years and thought I knew, continues to befuddle me. I thought heute Nacht was equivalent to tonight, or this evening, but in a particular text I see it used when last night was clearly meant. When does heute Nacht mean last night, and when does it mean tonight?

Is it a mistranslation?

Or is it an obsolete usage? FTR the book I’m reading is the German translation of Lord Of The Rings, and the language is deliberately slightly archaic, just as in the English original.

Just a WAG, as my German is getting rusty from neglect:

Perhaps it means “last night” in the sense that the day begins at sundown. Like Christmas Eve, and New Years Eve are the evenings of Christmas and New Years, but occur the night before.

Don’t know. I thought gestern Abend or gestern Nacht was for last night. Perhaps heute Nacht can refer to early morning, thus last night, too? :confused:

heute= today, so I’d go out on a limb and say it means tonight.

-Tikster

LEO translates “heute Nacht” as tonight.

For “last night,” they give “gestern Abend.”

I should clarify; I do know what the expression is supposed to mean. For it to mean “last night” in standard everyday German is hard to imagine without its having been explicitly drilled into me by those who taught me the language–and that, of course, didn’t happen.

The scene in question is where Frodo, Sam, and Pippin are still travelling through the Shire on their way to Crickhollow. It’s the day after they met the Elves in the forest, they’re having breakfast, and Pippin is saying that the bread left behind by the Elves tastes almost as good as it did “last night”.

Well I’m German, so I think I’m qualified to answer this one:

“Heute” means “today”, “Nacht” means “night”, but “Heute Nacht” means either “last night” (the night from yesterday to today) or “tonight” (the night from today to tomorrow) depending on context.

Examples: