The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Mundane Pointless Stuff I Must Share (MPSIMS)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:11 AM
asterion asterion is offline
2012 SDMB NFL Salary Cap Champ
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Guilderland, NY
Posts: 9,375
I Can't Believe This Beat The Spam Filter!

I have no clue how this thing beat the spam filter. For that matter, I'm not even sure why I got it, as the To: field isn't even my address. So, check it out (I put it in a code box due to troubles I was having with C&P):
Code:
From: "Barclays" <bsfsygdgu9@yahoo.com>
To: jmshigue@yahoo.com
Subject:  Barcsyal‬ Eliam‬ Vetacif
Dera‬ Baryalc‬s Mrebme‬,

    Tih‬s eliam‬ was stne‬ by the Bsyalcra‬ srevre‬ to veyfir‬ yuo‬r eiam‬l aserdd‬s. You mtsu‬ coetelpm‬ tih‬s psecor‬s by ccil‬king
on the likn‬ beol‬w and eretn‬ing in the slam‬l wiwodn‬ yruo‬ Byalcra‬s Meihsrebm‬p nurebm‬, padocss‬e and mme‬orable wdro‬.
Tih‬s is doen‬ for yruo‬ protecit‬on - bace‬use semo‬ of our meebm‬rs no lregno‬ hva‬e asecc‬s to teh‬ir eliam‬ addser‬ses and
we muts‬ vre‬ify it. To vfire‬y yuo‬r emlia‬ addsser‬ and acsec‬s yruo‬ bna‬k anuocc‬t , clkify [some url]
Who the heck would fall for this thing? But wait, it gets even better. I also got it in Outlook when I retrieved my Yahoo! email using POP3. Here's what it says when retrieved through Outlook:

From: "Barclays" <bsfsygdgu9@yahoo.com>
To: jmshigue@yahoo.com
Subject: Barcsyal‬ Eliam‬ Vetacifir‬ion (this is a string of crap, just in case the editor converts it to letters.)
Dear Barclays Member,

This email was sent by the Barclays server to verify your email address. You must complete this process by clicking on the link below and entering in the small window your Barclays membership, passcode and memorable word.
This is done for your protection - because some of our members no longer have access to their email address and we must verify it. To verify your email address and access your bank account, click on the link below:

[url]

Amusingly enough, when I clicked on it, it sent me to google.dj (what country is dj?) and gave me a 403 forbidden. I didn't mean to click on it, I accidentally did it while hovering to see if I could follow the link. But wait, there's more. When I tried to do a copy&paste out of Outlook (I typed the above text), it gives me this:

Dera‬ Baryalc‬s Mrebme‬,

Tih‬s eliam‬ was stne‬ by the Bsyalcra‬ srevre‬ to veyfir‬ yuo‬r eiam‬l aserdd‬s. You mtsu‬ coetelpm‬ tih‬s psecor‬s by ccil‬king
on the likn‬ beol‬w and eretn‬ing in the slam‬l wiwodn‬ yruo‬ Byalcra‬s Meihsrebm‬p nurebm‬, padocss‬e and mme‬orable wdro‬.
Tih‬s is doen‬ for yruo‬ protecit‬on - bace‬use semo‬ of our meebm‬rs no lregno‬ hva‬e asecc‬s to teh‬ir eliam‬ addser‬ses and
we muts‬ vre‬ify it. To vfire‬y yuo‬r emlia‬ addsser‬ and acsec‬s yruo‬ bna‬k anuocc‬t , clkci‬ on the lkni‬ ble‬ow:

This is the same thing as what I originally got in my Yahoo inbox. What the heck is this thing up to? I've never seen spam act this way before. Admittedly, I don't spend a lot of time looking at spam, but it's weird because this one managed to make it past the filters.
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:22 AM
SusanStoHelit SusanStoHelit is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
That is really wierd, asterion. My friend uses Yahoo for mail too, and he's always getting mail not sent exactly to him. He has the word "thane" in his addy, and he'll get mail sent to thaney, thene, and thane with all sorts of numbers after it. Always spam.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:26 AM
Kythereia Kythereia is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
www.google.dj is the Google homepage for Djibouti, so I call a Nigerian scam...

Do what needs to be done with all spam--chuck it in the trash bin and forget about it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:29 AM
GorillaMan GorillaMan is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
.dj - Djibouti
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:45 AM
Duke of Rat Duke of Rat is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
DJ Booty?? I think I saw him at a club last month..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright © 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.