Recommend me a book about science.

I am nearly done reading Mutants: On Genetic Variety and the Human Body by Armand Marie Leroi, and I am truly enjoying it. I recognize that there’s a fair amount of pop culture in there (a mention of Putin’s comb-over in the chapter on baldness), but I’ve enjoyed the historical aspects of the book as well – the passages from Ovid, Plato, etc. (Although I do think I’m being had on the sonic hedgehog issue – how can they get away with naming a gene sonic hedgehog? Where were the grown-ups?)

It’s occurred to me that this can’t be the only interesting, approachable book about science out there, so I’m looking for recommendations. I’m indifferent at this point about the branch of science (although I have never taken a class in physics, so that may be an uphill battle). I have a dictionary, so big words don’t scare me, but my background is solidly humanities, so be gentle.

My one disappointment in all this is that I didn’t take advantage of more science classes when I was in school, because I would learn so much more if I had the ability to discuss these types of things with people who were reading the same book (but there’s no way I can make the time for a class now). But, then, hindsight is twenty-twenty and all that.

So, tell me, what should I read to further my scientific education?

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson.

Have you read Bill Bryson’s “A Short History of Nearly Everything”? It’s extremely well written, but it may be too general for your tastes (it covers everything from geology to quantum physics).

Other than that, Hawking’s “A Brief History of Time” may interest you, if you haven’t read it already. It’s quite physics intensive, but Hawking’s explains the subject well enough that virtually anyone can understand the majority of it.