Burn higher percentage of fat when in good shape.

I have come to understand that the better in shape you are cardiovascular-wise, the more fat your body chooses to use for energy for everyday tasks (raking leaves, mowing lawn, walking the dog, ect.). I have always taken this as simple truth, but I want to know how well founded this idea is in the medical community. I have been basing my workouts on this principle for the past 8 months or so, with great results. I just want to know exactly how this idea came to be accepted as truth… by theory or studies or both… and how widely accepted and proven it is. Just curious.

Thanks.

I believe it is not directly an issue with the cardiovascular system, but rather the amount of muscle. The more muscle you have just sitting there doing nothing, the more energy your body needs even if you’re not doing anything -> the more fat it will burn if you don’t provide that energy through eating. So if you go on an exercise program, and gain 20 lbs of muscle in a year(very very difficult, but possible for a newbie), and then stop exercising, you will burn fat at a higher rate than a year ago.

It’s not just an issue of the amount of muscle you have. Basically, stored fat has to be removed from storage before it can be used for fuel, and that process requires oxygen. The better cardiovascular shape you’re in, the more oxygen you can intake, and the more stored fat you can metabolize.

Of course, having muscle mass drives up your energy requirements, so you have to keep that in mind too.

Neither of you want to comment on the ratio of energy used for daily low-intensity activity (carbs:protein:fat) in a person before being in good shape and then after? 'Cause that is what the issue is here…

It would take some time to dig up cites, but yes, I believe it is fairly well-established that you use more fat for fuel when you’re in better cardiovascular shape.

So why are the last few pounds always the hardest to lose?