Ask the Airline Pilot who just switched from Passengers to Cargo

The thread title says most of it. Some of you might vaguely remember me posting some things in GQ about flying every once in a while.

For those of you that don’t recognize me: I’m a former Air Force pilot who left the Air Force in 2000 to fly for the airlines. I was hired by American Airlines and spent several years there before getting furloughed recently.

A “furlough” for those of you unfamiliar with the term is the loss of your job with a promise to regain it at some future time. All the pilots at an airline are on a seniority list, and when it comes time to trim jobs the pilots at the bottom of the list are the ones who go. We will be recalled to our jobs in seniority order (ie the last pilot furloughed is the first called back, and the first pilot furloughed is the last called back). The furlough can be as short as a few months or as long as several years. What you do with yourself during this time is completely up to you.

I decided to not wait around for the recall. Even though AA is one of the most financially sound “legacy” carriers around, their future is still uncertain.

I applied and managed to get hired at FedEx. (If anyone wants to know about the hiring process I can go into it - suffice it to say that right now it’s a fairly competitive ordeal). I’ve finished training at FedEx and I’m now flying the line.

So, the field of questions is (almost completely) wide open. I will answer any question I can about flying jets, carrying passengers, carrying boxes, why I made the jump to the “dark side”, etc.