How would our lives be different if Einstein never existed?

Albert Einstein is generally considered to be the greatest scientist/physicist in the history of the modern world. He discovered many truths about the universe that no one else had ever considered. I am not a scientist so I couldn’t possibly describe, let alone understand, the significance of his ideas, theories and discoveries. I’m not even considering the achievements of those that were influenced by him. But I’ve always wondered if anything that he accomplished directly affects us today. I’m talking about real, concrete things that we use, or which some how affect us, that wouldn’t exist without Einstein’s work.

Can’t speak to what would or wouldn’t exist, but a 100 year derailment away from describing string theory can’t have been much help.

I think it would have been difficult to blow up Hiroshima, Nagasaki and the Bikini atoll as efficiently without his musings.

It depends on what you mean by the question. If Einstein had never lived, or if he had never done any physics, then likely we’d just be a few years behind in several fields. For example, Einstein published special relativity in 1905. If he hadn’t, I’d expect someone else would have come up with it relatively (;)) soon.

On the other hand, there’s stuff from Einstein all over the roots of modern physics. Probably you can trace back aspects of modern electronics and materials science to some of his contributions.

For a practical example, I believe that GPS satellites need to take the effects of relativity into account in order to work accurately. If I recall correctly, without accounting for relativity the GPS system would quickly be off by a surprising amount, something like a few kilometers after one day.

This is an example of what I’m looking for.