Planning a Surprise Birthday for Grandma: Any Hints/Ideas?

My grandma’s sixty-eighth birthday is next week and I’m in the midst of planning a surprise party for her. No one has ever had a surprise party for her, so I’m sure she’ll be thrilled. I’m inviting as many of her church friends as mom and I can remember, and, of course, the family will be there.

I’ve never done anything like this before, and I’m nevous. The food isn’t a problem. I’m going to do a buffet-style spread with maybe a hot dish or two and various finger-foods.

But I’d like to think of some ways to entertain the guests. What has worked for you guys?

Chippendale’s!

Heh, sorry. Board games?

A live band?

Tell us more about your grandma – it’ll help us figure out what she (and her friends) might enjoy.

No, ask the people at the party about what your Grandma enjoys.

Rent, buy, or borrow a video camera and walk around interviewing everyone there. Ask people to think about it in advance and come up with funny or heartwarming stories about her or involving her. Assign each grandchild to recite one thing they’ve learned from her. Get it all on tape. People will enjoy listening to all the stories, and everyone will be entertained by the fellowship and sharing. Maybe you can get someone to bring some music she likes and have that playing in the background.

End of the party, pop out the tape: there’s a gift she’ll cherish for the rest of her days. Or you could, ask people to e-mail you photos that you can put in a slideshow, or print out on nice paper, or even have developed at a photo place. Ask people to write their memories down and send them to you and put together a little book for her.

Find ways to involve the invitees to do a sort of this is your life thing. Now you don’t have to play stupid parlor games. Also, I’d strongly suggest potluck and you supply the plates and utensils and drinks or something.

Have fun! Tell Gramma we said Happy Birthday!