Ask the ballroom dancer

By request from astro

Up until I got put on bed rest before the birth of my daughter in 2004, I was an amateur coach for the MIT ballroom dance team. I was a founding member of the team in 1989, and started teaching regularly (mostly beginner and occasionally intermediate classes) probably in '93 or '94. I competed from 1989 until December of 2003 (when I was 5 months pregnant), with a six month hiatus in 1996 for a foot injury (vascular necrosis of the sesamoid bones of the foot). For the last couple of years that I competed, Charlotte Jorgensen (whom some of you might remember from Dancing With the Stars) was my primary trainer. I competed primarily in international style standard, with a brief foray into American style smooth in 1992-1993. I was one of the co-chairs of the 1994 US amateur championships in Boston, and served on the rules committee for the amateur governing body for about five years.

The MITBDT is pretty competitive, and has been one of the top teams in the northeast for the last ten years or so. Its annual competition draws around 400 couples. At its peak, I think there were about 70 members, although I believe it’s down to 40 or 50 now. They are fun to teach for a geek like me, because everyone understands when you analyze dance in terms of force vectors and conservation of momentum. They also tend to practice a lot and to be relentless in attention to detail. Of course, it does take more work to clean some of them up for competition, too. :slight_smile:

Any questions?

Do you see more dancers over 50 than under AND if so are they juicing?

When I was 18 I used to valet park cars at various high society functions and I noticed a large amount of couples that were in their 50’s & 60’s would do some outrageous ballroom dancing.