Can wearing contacts too long damage your eyes?

I’ve been wearing contacts for about 10 years now and I typically leave them in for up to 6 months at a time. I’ve used mostly Acuvue but recently switched to Night and Day disposable contacts which are supposed to be safe for 30 days of continuous wear.

Is there really any harm in leaving them in this long or do the contact lens companies just want you to buy more? I can’t even feel them and often forget that I even wear contacts. I’ve never had an eye infection, I go to the eye doctor once a year and my vision hasn’t changed at all in the last 10 years. I’ve heard that my chances of getting an infection are increased, but I would think I would know once my eyes were infected and I would then remove them.

The only thing I’ve noticed is that when I do actually take them out, my eyes feel like they’re burning and are extremely sensitive until I put new ones in.

Have there been any cases in which wearing contacts for extended periods of time have caused any serious damage to the eyes? I think maybe my eyes have adapted to them and it’s as though they’re a part of me now.

You’d really be willing to take a reactive approach, and wait for an eye infection to tell you it’s time to take your contacts out?

Yeah, I can quote rel gud.

Well, I’ve got three big* scars (and lots of little ones) on one of my eyes from wearing contacts too long.

Of course, I only wore them 10 or 12 hrs a day and removed them every night.
(I’ve got disposable ones that I wear for a couple months and then toss out for a new pair. They’re supposed to be replaced every couple weeks though.)

*big, as in the doctor can see them, not big as in they affect my vision.