The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Old 01-12-2006, 11:58 PM

Can wearing contacts too long damage your eyes?

I've been wearing contacts for about 10 years now and I typically leave them in for up to 6 months at a time. I've used mostly Acuvue but recently switched to Night and Day disposable contacts which are supposed to be safe for 30 days of continuous wear.

Is there really any harm in leaving them in this long or do the contact lens companies just want you to buy more? I can't even feel them and often forget that I even wear contacts. I've never had an eye infection, I go to the eye doctor once a year and my vision hasn't changed at all in the last 10 years. I've heard that my chances of getting an infection are increased, but I would think I would know once my eyes were infected and I would then remove them.

The only thing I've noticed is that when I do actually take them out, my eyes feel like they're burning and are extremely sensitive until I put new ones in.

Have there been any cases in which wearing contacts for extended periods of time have caused any serious damage to the eyes? I think maybe my eyes have adapted to them and it's as though they're a part of me now.
Advertisements  
Old 01-13-2006, 09:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by spankari
I've been wearing contacts for about 10 years now and I typically leave them in for up to 6 months at a time. I've used mostly Acuvue but recently switched to Night and Day disposable contacts which are supposed to be safe for 30 days of continuous wear.