Non-public ZIP codes (e.g., 8124G)

In this thread certain “non-delivery” ZIP codes are discussed (mainly covering bodies of water).

In this post (different thread) TommyTutone mentions ZIP code 8124G.

Looking at Google Earth, I can find ZIP codes ending in HH, as mentioned in the first thread.

Is there evidence of “non-public”/“non-delivery” (okay, I’ll say it – “secret”) ZIP codes in the USA?

I do know about the “secret” White House ZIP code that allows mail to go directly to the President (although I can’t locate the thread at the moment).

I also know that 20500 (The White House) is the only US ZIP code that ends in 00.

Any others?

Just to be clear on my account, I have no knowledge whether the zip code I provided is legitimate. I just wanted to have a laugh watching someone try to key it in as I would imagine zip code fields are designed to only accept numerics.

Of course based on the question above, I know that I can lie if they ask where the zip code is located (I’ll say Nova Scotia or something).

Excepting for the moment that Nova Scotia doesn’t have zip codes, you mean. :smiley:

'Cept that Nova Scotia would be in a different country. Canada, to be exact. And therefore unlikely to use the USPO ZIP code.

Yes, postal codes in Nova Scotia all start with the letter B. :slight_smile:

Actually, they aren’t really ZIP codes. You won’t find them in the Post Office’s list of ZIP codes, and they won’t work on the USPS website to check ZIP codes. Those are just codes used by someone else (like Google) that are intended to look like ZIP codes, and fit with the ZIP structure, but they aren’t real ZIP codes.

Nope, that’s an obvious fake. ZIP codes are all numeric in the USA. He seems to mention it as something to tell nosy sales clerks who ask for your ZIP code and other private info. I prefer telling them that “my ZIP code is 1. Just 1”.