Ask the LensCrafters eyeglasses consultant

I get a lot of questions about my job from both customers and acquaintances, and it seems to me that the general public doesn’t really know a lot about the process behind selecting the right pair of glasses and how they’re made. I’ll be happy to answer any questions you might have (rest assured I will answer truthfully, I personally would never encourage someone to buy glasses they don’t need). Some stipulations:

I am not a doctor of optometry or a optician. Please consult your doctor concerning your eye health, how often you should wear your glasses, etc.

I do not work in the lab making the glasses, but many of my friends do, and I can probably ask them questions relating to the process, etc.

The opinions expressed within are not neccesarily the opinions of LensCrafters. They are just the observations and beliefs of one employee. YMMV, TMI, etc.

So, that’s new. Last I heard you were with the kinder. I need new glasses. I should come see you.

So, do these frames look good on me?

I’ve bought three pairs of eyeglasses here in India. 2 of the frames were no-brand frames, which cost less than US$10 a piece, while one frame was a “designer” brand which cost about $90.

My prescription is fairly high, so I generally purchase the thinnest lens possible. At one small shop, these cost about $15. At a different large franchise shop, I got premium Kodak lenses for about $70.

So, I have 2 questions:

1. I have never seen non-designer brand frames in the USA. It seems to me that there should be a market for $30 frames in the USA. Maybe I’m not looking hard enough, or all the consultants push me towards the designer frames. I really think $150+ is a rip of for a few pieces of metal or plastic.