So tell me about cooking with gas

I’ve been contemplating sometime in the next year replacing my crappy stove. (The oven temp is amazingly unreliable (and not by a consistent amount!), I hate it, hate it hate it, etc.) So anyway, I’ve been thinking about gas.

I’ve never used gas before. I like to cook and I hear that real cooks all love gas, but it scares me to have open flames around in the kitchen - I’m clumsy enough and there’s always piles of crap on the counter, I’d be afraid something would fall down or fall over or whatever and it would all go up in flames. Also I just read in Consumer Reports that while people like the visual feedback of gas, their tests suggest that good electric burners heat up faster and are more reliable at low temps.

Whenever there’s a thread here about gas or electric everybody comes in and screams gas gas gas, but is it really better? (Of course I have no gas line in the kitchen right now so I’d also have to have one put in. My water heater is gas, and I have gas heat and gas logs, but nothing else.) Also, gas is only getting more expensive. I thought about the dual-fuel thing with an electric oven, but CR didn’t really care for them and they’re also very expensive. Would you guys really get gas if you were me?

Yes, of course I eould get gas if Iwere you! Aside from the nominal fee for putting in a gas line and going through the rigamarol (sp?) of getting everything hooked up and the fees for having the propane guy come out every-so-often - I see no problems with cooking with gas.
The benefits of the temperature range and ability to control it are many… It’s like the person who wants a standard car instead of an automatic… you simply want more control… :slight_smile:

If you are talking about switching from a gas grill to a charcoal grill then we have a different set of circumstances all together…