Why Is Rap So Annoying?

First and foremost, let me begin with the fact that I am an artist and refuse to permit the censure of any form of music or art. (We’ll go into Government funding for crucifixes submerged in jars of urine later.) Before any of the inevitable objections are raised, allow me to say that I have been to a few rap concerts.

I have seen Digital Underground, Humpty Dumpty, Queen Latifah, Yellow Man and my own personal favorite, Eek A Mouse (a truly creative genius). I have also jammed with a rapper. I play a dozen different instruments and I write my own lyrics in addition to composing my own music. My music ranges from Classical and Baroque to Hard Rock and Indian Ragas. There is just something about rap that really galls the shit out of me. Maybe it was designed to, I don’t know.

I maintain that rap “music” is for people incapable of nonlinear thought. The overly emphasized monotone / monologue aspect of rap is like listening to a skipping record album (Boy howdy, that dates me now, doesn’t it?). Especially ironic is the fact that I find the ability of an artist to “scratch” quite fascinating. That old LP’s should play such an important role in rap is almost scary in it’s homage to all previous music.

Back to what I dislike about rap. An “artform” that so routinely includes misogynistic content, advocacy of violence and (I know that this is debatable) the gratuitous use of foul language falls short on redeeming qualities. I have listened to rap that contains positivistic content spoken in polysyllables and it still didn’t do anything for me. I’m just tired of having to listen to someone’s music selection solely because they have chosen to install a large scale public address system in their car. I have had the pleasure to see a person’s car slowly vibrate itself apart because of their (extra annoying) sub-woofer output.