Do headphones lose volume capacity over time?

Ive been using a cheap set of headphones for about two years. Until now Ive been extremely satisfied and tell everyone what a great deal they were.

I recently noticed, however, that the highest volume setting on my ipod isnt as loud as before. After some reminiscing, I realized that over the life of my headphones the highest volume setting had gone from ear-piercing to loud to not quite loud enough. This isn’t a problem with my ipod, which can still tear up some eardrums through speakers.

So, do headphones gradually lose their volume capacity?

I dunno about the headphones, but Apple has added a volume limit option to iPods via the updates, in response to threats of legal action. You might want to check that.

iPod>Settings>Volume Limit

Are you in the habit of listening through headphones at the highest possible volume level? If so, that might be a large part of the problem right there. Cumulative hearing damage begins at continuous exposure levels of ~85 dB. Many personal audio electronics are easily capable of exceeding this through headphones; I’m pretty sure iPods are/were, hence the lawsuit mentioned above.

I was going to ask the same question. I have headphones plugged into the jack in the back of my PC computer. Lately I’ve had a very difficult time hearing music from internet radio, CDs, or many video downloads of news or other short pieces. A very few do still come through at normal volume, so it may not be the headphones. But my problem certainly has nothing to do with iPods or hearing loss.

Speaker cones tend to become stiff as they get older, so it is harder to move the cone and thus move the air that you hear. So it takes more energy (higher volume level) to get the same effect. This is probably especially true of cheaper quality speakers.