Can high-pressure steam cut a body in half?

http://www.straightdope.com/columns/060804.html

Concerning the final paragraph:

I was on the USS Ranger CV61 from 1985 to 1989. The Ranger is now retired.
…The Steam used on the ship in various applications was 1200 PSI, 600 PSI, 300PSI an 150 PSI. In the machine spaces, 1200 PSI was piped to many locations. It was used to drive the 4 main shafts, to power the eight primary electrical generators and IRC to operate the Flash/Evaporator water distillers. I think 1200-PSI steam was used for the steam catapults. I am sure I am forgetting applications, as I was an Electrician Mate and not a Boiler Tech. We had training concerning the threat of 1200-PSI steam and the broom handle was never mentioned.
…A very small steam leak from a valve was noisy enough to hear over the ear protection and machine noises and quickly created a cloud of steam that was easily seen. I am grateful I never witness a major leak but one chief had his arm very badly burned in a 1200-PSI leak his other arm broken by the Petty officer that grabbed the Chief’s arm and dragged him hard and quick out of the area of the leak. The Chief, who was a Grizzle old Vietnam small boats veteran, said he was never more afraid in his life.
…Anyway, all of this was to make the point that we did have 1200-PSI steam, it was considered very dangerous and we were never told anything about using a broom to test for leaks.

Jim

Just wanted to observe that perhaps we may need a new appellation for una. Member, assistant, staff, may be insufficient. I propose that we hereafter afford una her due and properly refer to her as primary source! :wink:

We might also benefit from a pronunciation guide. OO-NAH, or YOU-NAH?

I usually pronounce it Oo-nah in my head.

Hardly a guide, but I went to High School with a girl name Una and she pronounced it Oo-nah.