job question...please read!

HI,

I am an elevator technician (repairman) and am only 14yrs.
is this legal at all?

any help would be appriciated!

thanks!

sorry i forgot to mention… I have my own independant elevator company, with only 2 employees (1 not counting me).

You repair elevators and you’re 14 years old? And you have employees? What country are you writting from?

If you are just going around offering your services for money, it counts as a business in the loosest, non-leagle ideas of the term. You probably need some sort of certification verifying that you and your buddies actually have the knowledge and skills to be working on machinery that has the potential to kill people when it fails. Never mind the fact that you aren’t reporting your earnings to the government and all that other paperwork stuff.

Seriously, quit until you’ve researched this at more than just some random message board.

Ah! Good to know! I was going to ask, but the number-of-employees thing cleared up that tiny gap of information in an otherwise illuminating description of your situation.
Since there are NO implicit hazards or dangers associated with elevators, there is precious little regulation around them. But here are some factoids I found in I.P. Freeley’s 1919 seminal tome The Gentleman’s Illustrated Handbook to Elevator Repair and Steppe Straightening:

Other than that, as I’m sure you’re aware as you must have taken the EEEEEE (Elevator / Escalator Expurgated Elementary Entrance Exam), if you were able to answer the final question, you’re official: Is it technically still an elevator if you’re going down? The answer, of course, is “It depends on the aggregate age of the manufacturer’s employees at time of installation.”