The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2006, 08:40 AM
Chew Barker Chew Barker is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Can I copy my operating system and all its tweaks to a replacment hard drive ?

I am currently running windows xp pro on my primary drive, this hard drive has just the one partition c: size 40Gb

I have a second drive installed which is mostly data, documents and a few programs installed on this d:

Now I have just bought a new hard drive 80Gb to replace to current c:, I would like to avoid rebuilding everything on the new one. Can I firstly remove the second drive that is in at the minute-then stick in the new hard drive as a slave- copy all of c: to this new disk-take out the old c: and chane the new drive to primary ?

will this work? My guess is that it wouldn't becuase nothing (I dont think) will have been written to the mbr on the new disk.

so my second idea is to install windows xp pro on the new drive using the installation cd then to copy everything and overwrite the newly installed stuff.

The reason I do not just want to rebuild everything from scratch is I have made little tweaks like changed dlls so I can have nice themes and also servicepack 2 and all my updates would need to be downloaded again.

Will any of these methods work ?
Any other advice ?
Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 09-28-2006, 08:50 AM
Mangetout Mangetout is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England (where it rains)
Posts: 51,226
Yes, you can use a disk imaging program to back up the old hard drive, then restore the image to the new one; the MBR will be taken care of as part of the process, I think.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2006, 08:58 AM
butler1850 butler1850 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Norton's Ghost Software will do it for you easily. I've used it in far too many cases to count. Great software.

It's also VERY likely that the HD you bought also came with software to do just this for you as well. If it did not come with the software, I would check with the manufacturer's website to see if software is available. It may not be as good as Ghost, but most drives I've purchased did have software available to do a copy to the new hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2006, 12:27 PM
Quartz Quartz is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Home of the haggis
Posts: 19,942
Maxtor have a program called Maxblast which you are licensed to use if either of the drives is a Maxtor.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.