Guys, how long does it take to grow a beard

Well, I had a decent mustache 30 years ago when I was a kid, but have shaved pretty much every day since. So for a week I haven’t shaved, and have about as much stubble as some guys I know get in a couple days.

I was wondering how long it takes to go from grass to weeds. Should I give up, or wait a couple more weeks/months? I am just curious. What determines beard growth?

Genetics. It’s not something you can really change.

It takes me about 2 weeks to grow in a reasonable looking beard.

For me? About half an hour. Forget shaving, I need to use a machete just to trim the damn thing.

Believe it or not after 3 or 4 days growth at work I have been sent to the changing rooms/toilets to have a shave.

Apologies for the hijack but does anyone know if my company (Tesco) can force me to do this?

For background I’m a baker and my shift is normally 4am - 1pm. Apart from anything else bakers are supposed to be scruffy and we hardly ever go onto the shop floor and get bothered by customers.

Should Tesco respect my diversity or can they insist on my being clean shaven?

I grew an enormous bushy beard for a Victorian-themed event a few years ago. Not knowing how long it would take, I started three months in advance. Some parts (moustache and the bit that alone, would be called a goatee) grew in remarkably quickly, but others (sideburns, particularly) took longer.
Some of the bits that took longer just seemed to grow slower, but the sideburns took a while to ‘fill in’ - some hairs grew quicker than others, so the overall length was there in a month, but the density took longer.

I think they could argue that you ought to look tidy, and being clean shaven (or nearly so) might form part of that. If you decided to actually grow a beard though (as opposed to just shaving infrequently), I think they’d have to make allowance for that period in which it was only partially grown.

Ditto.

Takes me a couple of weeks as well.